Walking for wisdom

It is now 2 days till liftoff, exactly 48 hours until I have to be at the airport and only 2 more nights of sleep in my own bed – how exciting!  It feels like absolutely forever and yet also only a very short time since I decided to do this thing.  A spur of the moment decision born of frustration and inspiration that has the potential to change my life, my attitude and my relationship with my body.  We don’t get on well my body and I, we never have and now we are going to be stuck with one another (and our mascot ‘Ding’)  – completely relying on one another to walk 115 – 200km along an ancient pilgrimage across a foreign country where English is not the first language and where we will not be guaranteed a comfortable or quiet night’s sleep.  This could be the stupidest or most intelligent thing I have ever dragged myself into.

I am hoping that with peace, distance and the monotony of trudging feet some form of clarity will come to me.  That I will have time to reflect on what I want from my life, where I want to go, where I want to be in 5 years, 10 years, forever.  Whether I do want to commit another 4 years of my life to studying medicine so I can become a doctor like my mum and have some measure of control and input in to patient care or stay as a nurse and use those four years to explore different areas until I find one that is the right fit – actually have some savings and a life instead of being an impoverished student again, and when I say again I mean that by the time I finish medicine I will have studied at a university level for 9 years in total.  Possibly the most important thing I need to decide is what I will do if I don’t get in to medicine.

I am also hoping that somewhere along the way I will instantly understand and appreciate the way my body works and that it will decide not to be a pain in the ass and respect me a little more and we will come to have an harmonious partnership by the time we reach Santiago de Compostela.  Yes I know I complain about it a lot; I constantly feel like it’s letting me down and holding me back but you know what – they say the human body is a miracle and mine certainly is.  Just the fact that it is still going after all this, that it continues to baffle medical professionals and continues to find new things to irritate me with is certainly amazing – even if it is not entirely the kind of amazing I usually appreciate!  It may only have been a few months since I decided to make my way at snails pace along the Spanish countryside but it feels like a lifetime because those few months have been fraught with disappointment, tears, despair, joy, pain, difficulty, near disaster, elation, excitement and nervous energy.  It has been a roller coaster ride of emotions and questionable health and there were several times when I thought I wouldn’t make it on the plane.  But here I am – 2 days to go and having a better week than I have since my hospital stint in January.

So I would like to gain some insight into myself and my life while I walk, besides that I have no idea what I will find – maybe something profound, maybe nothing at all, but the experience will be worth it just to say ‘I did that, all by myself – if I can do that then I can do anything’.  Oh yeah, and there will be shopping at the end, lots of shopping!

Au revoir!
From now on this is officially a travel blog 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. una
    May 29, 2011 @ 22:55:28

    Good Luck Claire. post when you starting your Camino ok, want to think of you, see Joe has 7 blisters but he may be walking long days, enjoy the hols, music etc etc

    Reply

  2. Cathy
    May 28, 2011 @ 17:35:59

    good luck bloss, may you have wings under your feet to help you on your way

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

