50k for awareness

The 12-18 of September was invisible awareness week 2011, the week when we’re officially allowed to make a fuss about all the crap that has been happening with our bodies and help educate people about invisible illnesses and the impact they have.  So where was I after my last post about the burden of illness on society and the individual? um, I was reading a book.  Actually it was a trilogy and it was pretty darn good.  Ok, to be honest it was more than that – it was EPIC!

There’s two reasons why I don’t read much these days; one is that when you have difficulty concentrating it can be a little bit frustrating when you find you’ve read the same sentence 5 times and still don’t know what it said.  The other reason is because I quite enjoy sleep, in fact I really need it to keep my body going and a really good book gets in the way of that.  I don’t just read books, I devour them, I live them.  I would breathe fantasy if I could.  If someone said to me; ‘Claire, you can go to Narnia or any other fantasy place 20 times but each time you will loose either a finger or a toe’ it is more than likely that I would go at least 15 times – so long as my right hand is fine and I can write (and wield the necessary sword or whatever you need in any fantasy world) I’ll survive!

As a child I lived in books.  I often didn’t have much choice; asthma, chronic sinusitis and then depression took that choice from me.  But I didn’t mind so much, the fantasy world was so much more exciting than the real one.  I wanted so badly for it to be true that for a while I used to go into my wardrobe at night just incase it suddenly became magical and transported me to Narnia.  It never did.  But I survived, I read more and more and I loved it.  I was reading at a grade 6 level in grade 2, I guess that’s what happens when you don’t have much else to do!  Sadly in year 11 I came to the conclusion that if I wanted to pass my subjects I would have to stop reading and start studying.

More recently, movies have often replaced books due to chronic fatigue and dysautonomia getting in the way of my brain function but every now and then I still get hooked.  I deliberately aim for ‘light reading’ because those books are easier to put down but the odd ‘unputdownable’ book still gets through and I have always had a problem with series – once I start one I have to finish, I even persevered with Robert Jordan’s ‘Wheel of time’ series when many before me gave up in frustration and disgust at his appalling writing.  Just because your wife is a publisher doesn’t mean you should get away with that kind of writing, still, the story was great if you could get past that!  Anyway I digress; This time it was ‘the night angel’ trilogy by Brent Weeks.  I did pretty much nothing for just over a week other than read these books.  They have been added to my list of favourites alongside George R R Martin’s ‘Song of Ice and Fire’, Stephen Donaldson’s ‘Mordant’s Need’ and Cecelia Dart-Thornton’s ‘Bitterbynde chronicles’.  It has it all; magic, destiny, assassins, Gods, kings, monsters, passion, fear, ambition, loyalty, friendship, sorrow and a good measure of sword fighting and treachery.

So while I was reading my books others with dysautonomia were out there raising awareness doing radio interviews (here’s a good one by a POTSy friend of mine), writing blog posts and generally getting the word out.  But it’s ok, I can still contribute!  How (you may well ask)?  Well, as it happens November is Nanowrimo (aka National November Writing Month) where the challenge is set for anyone who believes they can to write a 50 000 word work of fiction between November 1 and November 30.  So a group of people with dysautonomia of varying types have decided that we have plenty to write about that is non-fiction and that invisible illness really needs more than a week to be talked about so when the idea for 50k for awareness was suggested we jumped at the chance.  What an adventure!  Boy are we going to be busy.  The big question is, how do you start a work like that?  Oh wait, I have it;

Once upon a time…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seattle Rental
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 00:50:34

    Great post, you have pointed out some superb details , I too believe this s a very superb website.

    Reply

  2. Gesunde Küche Shop
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 23:03:32

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Oct 12, 2011 @ 09:45:58

      Hi! yeah it does that sometimes! But there’s a lot of spam out there and it gets filtered automatically
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying my blog, some days it’s harder to write than others and I guess the only tip I really have is to write about what you know, what you’ve experienced and what you’re passionate about. It’s easier to identify with people who speak from the heart and know what they’re taking about. I’m a novice blog writer myself so can’t really offer much more than that but good luck with your writing! 😀

      Reply

  3. Michelle Roger
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 12:15:54

    Yay a fellow fantasy lover. I too persevered with The Wheel of Time despite occasionally yelling at Jordan to write better. I was a child reading freak too. whilst everyone else was learning to braid hair and do thier makeup (two skills I still haven’t mastered) I was reading Tolkien and dreaming of far away places. Personally I think that the cool kids were the book nerds 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

